Don Pedro’s

26 Jun

Nothing warms my heart like a good brunch day. My heart is overwhelmed because I actually had a great brunch weekend (Emphasis on weekend) spent with people I love. So first things first …

I visited Don Pedro’s on 96th street and 2nd avenue which is close to home for me and a possible quick brunch go to spot from now one. For $20 they have a three course brunch with unlimited sangria. Let me say that again… For TWENTY DOLLARS they have a THREE COURSE brunch with UNLIMITED SANGRIA. Yes, I’ve been accepted into the pearly gates of brunch heaven. What did I do to deserve this !

The place is fairly small but comfortable . I wasn’t a huge fan of our seats but I’m there to eat, not to watch a play. Bleh. I ordered the beef empanada for an appetizer and my dearest friend Ko ordered the chicken empanada … They brought just one for each of us which I thought was the brightest idea because I didn’t want to ruin my appetite. It came with a spicy sofrito sauce and this other sauce seen in the photo above that I’ve actually had with calamari elsewhere. I’m not sure what it was but it went amazingly well with my empanada. Ko claims it was “the best empanada she ever had” and it was really delicious but she also never tried my empanadas (which are pretty good I must say)

Hmph. I just want to know what’s with my foodie dates saying its the best of this and that, I like think I’ve just been making really good choices when I go out. toots horn.

But onto the good stuff, for an entree I had the Steak and Eggs (my favorite meal for brunch). It had a really fancy name that I’ll have to spare the details on but it was cut up for me (love when they do that) and laid over yuca frita with a sunny side up egg over hard on the side (only way I’ll have them made). Yea so, Can I just share that this was delicious! It had a chimmichurri sauce over the steak that was to die for . And the waiter was so attentive filling up our glasses with some of the best sangria I’ve had since Calle Ocho.

Ko had the Ropa Veja over white rice which I hardly tried but she enjoyed from what I recall. Nonetheless, I’ve attached a photo of it for those who eat with their eyes. I almost forgot we were getting dessert, I could get use to this whole 3 courses thing though. We both ordered the passion fruit sorbet and it was good though, very soft and sweet. Considering the foodgasm I was having the whole time I was there, I’d say again that this is about to be my new go to spot for brunch ! Really, check this place out if you find yourself on the upper east side . My stomach would not steer you food lovers wrong !

20120625-180338.jpg

20120625-180329.jpg

20120625-180321.jpg

20120625-180309.jpg

20120625-180259.jpg

One Response to “Don Pedro’s”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Where to eat ?! Food Before Love in 2012 « Food Before Love…. - January 2, 2013

    [...] Don Pedros – Classic Latin Flavors, Bottomless Sangria for under $25 [...]

Leave a Reply

FoodBeforeLove

Where you can always Find Love on the Menu

Yummy Lummy

Canberra's eating machine

NERDSTEAK

Food and Culture Shenanigans

tahsin, the good.

dreaming big. loving hard. fighting for what's right.

howwastheconcert

I go to concerts and tell you all about it.

HarlemGal Inc.

Living and loving life in Harlem

Brunch Gang NYC

Brunch: The best made-up meal of the day!

Health Advocation

just a student who enjoys health, nutrition, and fitness!

thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Life is Short. Eat hard!

Our Endless Search for Fantastic Food!

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

Brooklyn Bounty

Brooklyn Historical Society's Fall Fundraiser, celebrating food in Brooklyn.

Mimosa Maven

All brunch. All reviews. (almost) All NYC.

Christina Harawa

The Experienced Apprentice

TOKEN DREAD GIRL!

Its Allllways, About Xay.....

Bake Love Not War

Changing the world, one cupcake at a time.

Archaeology and Material Culture

The material world, broadly defined

Thoughts & Coffee

design-spiration. a blog of pretty things, what i'm up to, and what inspires me.

